Cafe Mocha Cupcakes

Coffee is one of the few things that tastes great both hot and cold. The chilled frappuccinos in hot summer and piping hot cuppas in the more chilly weathers just lift your mornings. Coffee was not one of my favourite beverages until 2005. It was only a ‘cool’ thing to do during the happy college days. Coffee shops were then the most favoured hangouts.  They used to be perfect both to catch up with friends and for those cheeky mini dates. Your group is cool if you hang out in coffee shops. It’s romantic to chat away with boyfriend  sipping cold coffee. And thanks to these coffee shops, sitting alone with a book and a huge cuppa is no longer weird.  I never liked the hot coffee though. Just for the fact that they had steaming milk in them and although I love cold milk I’d literally throw up if I drank boiled milk. And coffee in India is mostly served with lots of milk. So, in one way it is a good thing I didn’t drink as much coffee as everyone around me did and so I didn’t get addicted like many others.

21 174

 ‘I am very efficient at work. I have never missed a coffee break’  

Coming to London, and having looked at a completely different way to consume tea and coffee without boiling the milk lead the way for me to give caffeine a try again. Initially I drank to literally have a coffee break and to stroll away from my desk. Then I fell in love with the fresh aroma of coffee and now I kind of relish a nice big mug of black coffee almost every day. Having said that  I am fine if I don’t get one for the day. I think I am fortunate in that way.

cupcake

I was to make some cupcakes for the BBPC #2 assignment and looked up for some nice cupcake recipes. As usual I was running up to the photo submission deadline and the focus was on the photography (cough cough) Yes…Me and photography …..  I chose a very simple coffee cupcakes recipe. But I was more than pleased with the result. I took them to work and three people commented that I was in the wrong profession,  Bless ‘em.  The recipe was adapted from here, I did add this and that, here and there till I got some not so strong coffee flavoured cupcakes with just the right amount of coffee and chocolate in the butter cream icing.  And you know what I am pleased with the pictures too thanks to BBPC. I submitted the below picture for the assignment.

21 140

To make 6-8 of these gorgeous cupcakes you will need : 

100g Sugar

100g Unsalted butter

2 eggs

100 grams self raising flour

2 Tsp Espresso (I used Precol medium)

Coffee beans for garnishing

For the icing : 

120g Butter

120g Icing Sugar

1 1/2 Tsp Espresso

75g Melted Chocolate

Method: 

Pre heat the oven up to 180 degrees.

Beat the Sugar and butter until fluffy.

Add the eggs and beat them.

Slowly start adding the flour and the espresso.

Mix everything well and spoon them into the cupcake cases. These will rise well so only fill the cases about half way. Bake them in the oven for 15-20 mins and Let them cool

For the Icing:

Mix the butter, and icing Sugar

Add the espresso

Add the melted chocolate and beat well.

Finishing:

Pipe the icing onto the cupcakes and decorate with coffee beans and serve, Trust they are simple but have a very luxurious and elegant taste.

21 085

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

4 comments

Leave a Reply

