Andhra Mutton Curry

 

South India, especially south-east indian districts are known for spicy non vegetarian food. I have inherited one such simple and easy mutton curry recipe which my grand mum and mother in law always cook. Coming to UK and living in Chiswick for the initial years, I didn’t really have access to mutton. I used to cook with lamb and it never is the same. Even though mutton takes a little extra time to cook, that is what is authentically used in the recipes and more importantly that is what I was used to.The fact that there are a  whole Indian butchers who sell meat was a wow moment for me. But then, the whole horse meat and various other meat investigations that went on in the previous months was a bit terrifying. The topic was instigated on multiple occasions and I heard people getting worried. The whole vegetarian and non vegetarian debate was no longer important. It came to it that people are thinking what meat they might be eating.And the thought that the meat is being sourced in bulk by the butchers is frightening.

Amidst the whole drama, someone knocks on my door and say they are a ‘Straight to door’ meat company called Farmer’s choice.The representative was very informative and then I learnt that not only that they have good quality meat but you could at any stage call them, state the code on the meat they delivered to you and ask which farm in particular it has been sourced from and all the other history of the meat like how was it breed, age etc,. And they do mutton …..how great is that ? well, I  did sign up and I got the  first delivery. I ordered for couple of  lamb shanks, mint lamb sausages, minced mutton and Salmon and mutton. It was a big order and filled up one whole shelf in my freezer. And it’s been a month and my DD from the first month has been charged but I didn’t finish all the meat. Soon I realized the downside for the whole thing is that the dd I signed up was too much for me. I recently called in and reduced it to suit my needs so not a downside at all.

I cooked this recipe with Farmers choice mutton and the quality is in your face. The taste, the tenderness is top class and is so different from the previous curries I cooked. So make sure you get hold of good quality meat to cook your curry and you will not regret that extra pounds you spent on it.

IMG_1212

Ingredients: 

500 grams Mutton on bone

5 Green chilies halved

1 Tsp red chilly powder

1 Tsp Garam Masala

1 Tsp Ground coriander

2 Big onions finely chopped

1 Small Tomato finely chopped

2 Tbsp Ginger garlic paste

5 Tbsp Oil or Ghee

Pinch of turmeric

IMG_1209

Method:

Heat oil in a  pressure cooker or a deep pan. If you do not have a pressure cooker , marinate the meat in little oil, lemon juice and salt. It will help the meat cook in less time. Saute the onions till they are transparent.

Add tomatoes and green chilies and continue to saute them, add ginger garlic paste, Coriander powder, chili powder, turmeric. Cook the mixture till the oil separates and settles at the walls of the vessel. Check for seasoning.

Add the meat, some water if the mixture is too thick. cook till the meat is cooked or in a pressure cooker , cook for at least 3 whistles.

Don’t worry if there is too much water in the curry, just leave it uncovered and continue to cook to evaporate the extra water till you reach the consistency you want the curry to be.

Serve hot with steamed rice or any kind of bread.

Leave a Reply

