Vankaya Pachadi | Spicy Aubergine Dip

My favourite vegetable! And I know not a lot of  people actually fancy aubergine like my mum 🙂 . But the king of vegetables sure did succeed in stealing the hearts of some foodies and who are very loyal. So what would you cook with this amazing vegetable. I Love it in any form. But Vankaya  pachadi is on my favourites and one of the simple recipes. Do try it with steamed rice or fresh Pitta. Everyone who tries this recipe will change their mind about the vegetable…..well I think  except my mum ……:) 

IMG_1071

Ingredients

I used 3 large Aubergines

1 Tsp Tamarind paste

5 Green Chillies

1 Garlic Clove

1 Tsp Salt

1 Tbsp Sunflower Oil

For Seasoning

1 Tsp Mustard Seeds

Few Curry leaves

1 Tsp Cumin Seeds

1 Tsp Yellow Lentils

2 Garlic Cloves Halved

1 Dried Red Chilli

1 Tbsp Oil or Ghee


IMG_1882

Method

Dice the Aubergines into big chunks. Heat a Tbsp of oil and add the Aubergine pieces and sauté them till they are tender. Add a pinch of salt at this point. Add the green chillies and the garlic clove along with the tamarind paste.

IMG_1886

There is no need to cook the chillies or the garlic. They bring the dish a very nice flavours.   grind it in a mixer or you wish use a mortar to coarsely mash the mixture.

Heat a Tbsp of oil in a small pan and add the mustard and wait for a min and add the yellow lentils, cumin seeds, garlic halves, curry leaves and green chilli and sauté them for a minute. Garnish the seasoning on the Aubergine mixture and serve with steamed rice or use it as dip with fresh pitta.

Thanks 🙂

4 comments

  1. Dear Gayathri,
    Thanks to Fb, I am discovering super talents of my family unknown to me sofar. Anyway,thanks to you, I will try to make yiur pachadi and Kusuma’s kobbari annam.

    1. So pleased you like it tataya, Amma’s kobbari annam is a winner any time ….I miss it so much especially on peddaammama’s puja day.

Leave a Reply

